Saturday, May 31, 2014

O'Shaughnessy Wins George Washington Book Prize

Since I was away from the blog last week I did not get a chance to write a post on the announcement of the 2014 George Washington Book Prize winner.  This year's winner was Andrew O'Shaughnessy's book The Men Who Lost America: British Leadership, the American Revolution, and the Fate of America.

Some might call this a bit of an upset, but only because another one of the books chosen as a finalist, Alan Taylor's The Internal Emeny: Slavery and War in Virginia, 1772-1832, won this year's Pulitzer Prize for history.  (The other finalist was Jeffrey Pasley's The First Presidential Contest: 1796 and the Founding of American Democracy).  The judges for this year's award were Gordon Wood, Joyce Appleby, and Annette Gordon-Reed.

As some of you may recall, my Was America Founded as a Christian Nation?: A Historical Introduction was one of the three finalists in 2012.

1 comment:

tania walters said...

Infatti, ha incontrato Rolex Replica il suo primo successo dopo adattato un motociclo di MX, che gli è valso il riconoscimento Replica Rolex della stampa specializzata internazionale e l'accesso ai campionati internazionali più famosi come il "AMD mondo campionato di Bike Building", per cui ha finito terzo nella categoria Harley nel 2010, o anche il "arte di ferro Master builders campionato.