Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Jurgen Habermas and Charles Taylor Receive Kluge Prize

The John W. Kluge Center at the Library of Congress "brings together scholars and researchers from around the world to stimulate and energize one another, to distill wisdom from the Library's rich resources, and to interact with policymakers and the public."

Every year the Kluge Center presents the John W. Kluge Prize for Achievement in the Study of Humanity.  The $1 million prize (this year is $1.5 million) "celebrates the importance of the study of humanity and recognizes individuals whose outstanding scholarship in the humanities and social sciences has shaped both public affairs and civil society."

Previous winners include Peter Brown, John Hope Franklin, Pail Ricoeur,and Jaroslav Pelikan.

This year's winners are Jurgen Habermas and Charles Taylor:

Here is the awards ceremony: